Life

Life is funny. And how we so often choose to live it. Here I am in the Dominican Republic, looking out over palm trees after a day in the sun. This – beautiful water, the sun, amazing landscapes – is available to us all the time.

Yet we can still choose to live it in the suburbs of a cold country like Sweden and take the train back and forth to work every morning and night. Days can be so dark we don’t even see the sun for days, sometimes weeks. I’m saying this because this is where I grew up. Every winter I felt like I had 10 extra kilos on my head, but I never understood why. No energy, no excitement about doing anything – this is what living without sun does to people (read: me).

So what’s holding us back to living the life we want? Fear. Fear of not making enough money, of leaving what is known to us, of being happy. Yes, I think fear of being happy is indeed an obstacle because it’s comfortable living a life where we can blame external circumstances. We convince ourselves that we’re not fully responsible for our lives and we victimize ourselves (been there done that, got the t-shirt!).

If you can change something that you don’t like, change it. If you can’t change it, change the way you look at it.

Leave a Reply

