Spark that fire

Yesterday I met two of my oldest friends. We grew up next to each other and every time I’m in Sweden I make time to see them. They follow their hearts and go their own way in life, which is so inspiring. One have two adorable kids and just moved into a big house outside of Stockholm. The other one started an organization two years ago focused on preventing mental illness among young people. What they’re doing is just amazing, they literally help thousands of young people – some have even said that thanks to them they didn’t commit suicide. They’re sisters and both are such an inspiration to me.

Yesterday we met for lunch and when I told them about my plans, I could hear myself going “Yeah, I hope it will work out..“. HOPE doesn’t get anyone anywhere. BELIEVING and KNOWING does. I’ve struggled a lot lately to not let myself get affected by other people…

“You don’t seem to have a proper plan”

“You’ll have to work day and night and you won’t have ANY free time what so ever for a LONG time”

“Let me give you a reality check, because you seem to need one” 

I don’t want to, but I do get affected. We talked about this and what they told me, which I’m SO GRATEFUL for, was that I need to get a bit pissed off. I need to turn other people’s opinions into my driving force and use that to fuel my own energy. It made such a big difference hearing this and I finally feel like I what to do with the energy and opinions of others. Next time I will simply smile and mentally say ‘thank you for fueling me even more to prove you wrong‘.

My biggest motivation? Just to keep challenging myself. I see life almost like one long University education that I never had — everyday I’m learning something new.” – Richard Branson

Leave a Reply

