I’m ready now.

Yesterday was my goodbye party. It was really fun, lots of friends came and we ended up in a Brazilian place where we danced until late. This morning when I woke up I realized something. I’m ready now, I’m ready to leave Paris. I love this city and I’m so grateful for this experience, but it has come to an end. These 2,5 years have really been incredible. I’ve had the opportunity to meet amazing people, see beautiful places and to develop a lot as a person. I’m a completely different woman today than what I was when I came here 24 years old. More than once I’ve been knocked down, and even though there have been times when I’ve been ready to give up, I’ve gotten back up again. The high’s are higher and the low’s are lower – that’s what I always tell people when they ask me how it’s like to live abroad. And the high’s… yes they’re addictive.

I’ve learned to live by myself, I’ve learned to appreciate time with myself, I’ve been cheated on, I’ve learned French, I’ve ended a long-term relationship, I’ve discovered that my ex-room mate was a psychopath, I’ve dated multi-culturally (French, Italian, Spanish, Turkish, Colombian, Tunisian, Nicaraguan, Moroccan etc), I’ve had two funerals, I’ve made friends who I LOVE deeply, I’ve been promoted, I’ve quit my job, I’ve travelled, I’ve partied until 5am several times per week for 5 months, I’ve tried drugs, I’ve started to meditate, I’ve broken up with friends, I’ve changed core values, I’ve realized that I was on the wrong path and I’ve changed direction.

My time here is indeed a mix of experiences, but I’m so grateful for all of them as they’ve helped me grow. Now I’m ready to close this chapter and to open a new one.

Before my party last night.

IMG_1586.JPG

Leave a Reply

