Working with the mind

Today it became so clear to me just how much the mind actually influences the outcome. I ran ‘La Parisienne’, a 6,7 km race for women. When I started, I imagined myself being a marathon runner (I’ve run 10 km twice in my life so it’s not at all the case lol). I was picturing myself having so much energy and that this was just a small part of what I normally run. When I did this, I could feel how my feet almost started running by themselves. I HAD to run at a faster speed. I usually do 6:30 min/km – today I did 5:30. During the race, I never checked how far I had gotten, but when we reached the finish line I seriously thought we were halfway. I could easily have continued.

That made me realize how much I usually focus on the negative parts when I run: how my ankles hurt, that I’m tired in my legs, that I have xx of km left before I’m done etc. This time no, I was solely focused on the positive aspects and how much I enjoyed it. Yay! πŸ™‚

“The mind is everything. What you think you become.” – Buddha

IMG_1941.JPG

Leave a Reply

