Oh my!

Yesterday evening I had an incredible meditation session. I was listening to Oprah and Deepak’s 21-day meditation, when I noticed how my ego consistently was trying to disturb me. It was trying to make me feel worried, useless, afraid – just any type of negative feeling. First I tried to push my ego away, but I noticed that this caused me to fuel the negative feelings. Instead I took the little monkey, as I now call the ego, and I imagined holding him. Mentally I hugged him, I told him that everything is alright and that he doesn’t need to worry for me.

All of the sudden, in the very moment the monkey calmed down, it was like lightening struck me from above. It hit on the top of my head and something streamed down my forehead to where my third eye is located. I felt so much energy in my body, especially in my feet and hands. It tingled all over my skin, I felt complete inside and full of energy. It was funny because my computer, which was on ‘sleep mode’, started to activate by itself. It made a sound like it was working fully. At one point I even took the plug out because I was afraid that it might explode. In the middle of the night, I woke up still disoriented about what had actually happened. To last night, I can only say ‘Thank you’ and ‘Wow’.

“Feelings come and go like clouds in a windy sky. Conscious breathing is my anchor.” -Thích Nhất Hạnh

4 thoughts on “Oh my!

  1. Naturally Ashlie says:

    I am also doing the Deepak and Oprah 21 Day Challenge and absolutely love when they have them! I really like how you responded to your ego, in a nurturing manner, versus trying to shove it down. Definitely a great reminder that a little love (even to our inner selves) goes a long way!

    Like

  2. 1heartsoundm says:

    Isn’t it amazing when you realize that you have that self control! Ego (monkey) is fueled by so many things, FEAR being one of them but your approach to reach out to it with calm and love, compassion and nurturing has a profound affect on it. YOU calmed YOU, and in doing so, you were filled with mindfulness of what is.
    I love the energy you are open to and the accepting way in which you embrace it. Good going my friend! Amazing things are happening in your life! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

