Contagious smiles

I don’t know why, but birds (especially pigeons) have a tendency to fly very near me, so close that they even touch me from time to time. Once I even got a flying pigeon’s wing in my mouth, which I licked (not on purpose) with my tongue. I was almost ready to cut my tongue out I was that disgusted. Three times this summer they’ve touched my head while flying by. To keep my traumatic stories short: I’m terrified of pigeons.

Tonight, I went running in Jardin des Tuileries. As I was running, two pigeons flew near me and out of reaction I instantly bent down and started waving my arms. Not a very normal reaction – I know (but remember that I’ve LICKED a pigeon’s wing). A girl looked at me and started laughing. I could see how ridiculous my sudden move looked, so I smiled back and laughed too. As I kept on running, still smiling, a guy looked at me and started laughing too. He hadn’t seen me doing my “bend and wave my arms like I’m about to die” movement, so I knew it was the smile that made him happy. After that I kept on running and smiling. It’s so easy, it’s so simple and yet so powerful. Someone once told me: smile and you have half of the world in your hands.

“A smile is a curve that sets everything right.” – Phyllis Dillier

5 thoughts on “Contagious smiles

  1. 1heartsoundm says:

    Oh wow!! I loved this post…please know that even someone so far away was smiling too and yes, a smile is such an easy thing to give away! (ok ok, I will admit, I did sorta chuckle at the thought of your little dance!)
    Have a fantastic night! ๐Ÿ™‚ psst…still smiling! See—-> ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

