Removing my safety nets

We all want safety. Safety means that we’re secure, taken care of and in a safe environment. What’s unknown is scary, because of the simple fact that it’s unknown to us. The way we tend to perceive safety isn’t accurate though. The person we’re in a relationship with can decide to leave us one day or we can get fired from our job. The good thing is that we already have everything we need inside of ourselves, we don’t need external factors to help us feel safe. Knowing this, however, doesn’t make leaving our perceived safety easier.

Pursuing this life change scares the hell out of me. It scares me so much that I have the need to remove all my safety nets so I won’t attach myself. It’s emotional – I can’t be in a relationship right now. It’s psychological – I can’t let comments or judgement from others affect me. It’s financial – I can’t let money be an issue. When you have nothing to lose, you have everything to win because there is no fear in our actions. In this process, I need to find my inner strength and safety. I meditate everyday, I write down my thoughts in a book and here on the blog and I surround myself among people that help me go in the right direction.

When you want something you never had, you got to do something you’ve never done.

 

4 thoughts on “Removing my safety nets

  1. Akriti says:

    You nailed the post with this –
    “When you want something you’ve never had, you got to do something you’ve never done.:

    The best way to grow in life as a person is to step out of your comfort zone 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

