Showing our true colors

I read somewhere that the meaning of life is to find our gift, and the purpose is to give it away. I like that because in order to find our gift, we need to be connected to ourselves. It’s not easy to find our own meaning of life in a world that is trying to make us not be who we really are. Just think about this: people that don’t have a smartphone today are most likely considered weird, while people without a purpose in life are not. How screwed up is that?

I know many of us are searching for our call in life – we’re lost, we don’t know who we are, what we like or what we’re good at. The problem is that we can’t find it because we’re so afraid of finding it. What if our call isn’t aligned with what our partner, parents, friends and society expects from us? It’s simply easier to keep walking on the same path we’ve started on. Why is this? Why are we so afraid of what other people will think about us? 

I read an article yesterday about the top 5 regrets people have on their deathbed. Here they are:

1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

In the end it all comes down to love and relationships. It’s our life to live, no one else’s. If you have something you want to pursue and those around you don’t accept this decision, that’s OK. Once they see that it’s making you happier they’ll do. If they don’t, you probably should question whether that’s a relationship you want to keep our not. Remember to always be kind to yourself, this shouldn’t be another “must”, it should be something joyful, fun and exciting!

Showing our true colors won’t make everyone love you, it will make the right people love you. 

One thought on “Showing our true colors

Leave a Reply

